Floyd G. Hudson Service Award Recipients

The Floyd G. Hudson Service Award is presented for outstanding performance and commitment by a professional who works in the field of learning disabilities in a role outside of the classroom. This CLD member, working in a leadership capacity, enhances the professional learning of others in the field and impacts the lives of persons with learning disabilities.  This year’s recipient is Dr. Debi Gartland.

The 2021 Floyd G. Hudson Award Recipient

Debi Gartland, Ph.D. – Maryland

Debi is Professor Special Education at Towson University, Maryland, where she works with undergraduates in their professional year in the Elementary Education/Special Education dual-certification program she co-created at the request of the Maryland State Department of Education.  Her advocacy work started when she was a K-8th grade special education teacher, then Vice Principal, in Massachusetts and continued through her doctoral program at The Pennsylvania State University.  Debi’s efforts expanded to the national level, serving on the Learning Disabilities Roundtable convened by the US Department of Education, which led to recommendations regarding learning disabilities for the reauthorization of IDEA 2004.  Currently, Debi serves on the National Joint Committee on Learning Disabilities and the Consortium for Citizens with Disabilities’ Education Task Force, both of which inform stakeholders as well as members of the U.S. Congress and influence legislation, including policies regarding learning disabilities.  Debi was recently re-appointed by Governor Hogan to a second term to serve the state of Maryland as a member of the Professional Standards and Teacher Education Board.  She has been a member of CLD since 1983 and has served on the Board of Trustees since 1990.  Debi has chaired/co-chaired the Liaison Committee since 1994.  Although she is actively involved in many local, state, and national professional organizations, CLD is her favorite!

Past Award Winners

The 2020 Award Winner

Roberta Strosnider, Ed.D. – Maryland

The 2019 Award Winner

Lori Severino – Pennsylvania

The 2018 Award Winners

Judith K. Voress – Texas

Lynne Fitzhugh – Colorado

The 2017 Award Winner

Phillipe Ernewein – Colorado

The 2016 Award Winner

Mary Pittman – Colorado

The 2015 Award Winner

Margarita Bianco – Colorado

The 2014 Award Winner

Peggy King-Sears – Virginia

The 2013 Award Winner

Mark Semmler – Colorado

Award Benefits

The recipient is a guest at the annual international conference and receives complimentary registration and membership renewal. During the conference award program, the recipient receives a certificate of recognition and an honorarium. The recipient will also be profiled in LD Forum.

Criteria for Nomination

• Be a member of CLD or join as part of the application process
• Provide professional development, consulting services or serve in a leadership role working with teachers, other professionals, parents, and students
• Provide exemplary services to the field of learning disabilities for a minimum of five years