CLD Outstanding Researcher Award


To promote and recognize research, the Council for Learning Disabilities annually presents an award for an outstanding manuscript-length paper on learning disabilities based on a doctoral dissertation completed within the last five years. The submission must not be under consideration for or the recipient of another award. The award recipient  will receive a plaque and a $500 honorarium to be presented at the 2022 International Conference on Learning Disabilities in Las Vegas, Nevada. Because the paper will be considered for publication in Learning Disability Quarterly, it cannot be simultaneously submitted to or already published in another journal.

To download a .pdf copy of the ORA requirements, click here. The current deadline for submissions for the ORA is May 1, 2022.

Submissions cannot be made by a second party on behalf of an author.  Each submission should include the following information: (i) one blinded copy of the APA-formatted paper (max.35 pages), (ii) an abstract, (iii) a brief bio of the first author, (iv) a professional photo of the first author, (v) a 50-word program-entry description of the piece, and (vi) a cover letter with the following information:

  • Degree-granting university
  • Major advisor
  • Year doctoral degree conferred
  • Confirmation that the manuscript has not been submitted to or published in another journal

The required materials should be submitted by the author to:

Jessica Toste,,  Research Committee Co-Chair


The 35-page limit for the manuscript includes the title page, abstract, main document, and references. It does not include tables and figures. Submissions that exceed the page limit or are incomplete will not be reviewed.

The winner of ORA is required to attend the CLD 2022 conference to present the awarded work.

  • The deadline for submission of papers is May 1, 2022. Submissions time stamped after 5:00 PM Eastern Standard Time on May 1 will not be reviewed. The winner will be notified by July 15, 2022.


CLD Outstanding Researcher Award Winners


For additional information, contact Margaret Flores or Jessica Toste, Research Committee Co-Chair.