Floyd G. Hudson 2018 Service Award


The Floyd G. Hudson Service Award is presented for outstanding performance and commitment by a professional who works in the field of learning disabilities in a role outside of the classroom. This CLD member, working in a leadership capacity, enhances the professional learning of others in the field and impacts the lives of persons with learning disabilities.  This year’s recipient is Dr. Mary Pittman.


The Council for Learning Disabilities honors the 2018 Floyd G. Hudson Award Recipients


Judith K. Voress, Ph.D.

The Hammill Institute on Disabilities

Judy is a member of the Texas CLD Chapter, and is Executive Director of the Hammill Institute on Disabilities, President of the Donald D. Hammill Foundation, and author of various assessments published by PRO-ED.  She has been an active member of CLD since 1982, serving at the state and national levels.  Since 2012, Judy has served as co-chair of the Conference Planning Committee, overseeing and coordinating the activities of the national conference.

Lynne Fitzhugh, Ph.D.

The Colorado Literacy and Learning Center

Lynne is the Founding Director and President of The Colorado Literacy and Learning Center in Colorado Springs.  Lynne served as a visiting adjunct professor and guest lecturer at the University of Denver, Colorado College and the University of Colorado in Colorado Springs.  Lynne created the Literacy Intervention Specialist Certificate Program, an intensive two-year program that enables graduates to earn national certification with the Academic Language Therapy Association.  In 2012, Lynne’s program at Colorado College was named by the International Dyslexia Association that meets the organization’s “Knowledge and Practice Standards for teachers of Reading.”


The 2017 Award Winner:

Phillipe Ernewein – Colorado

The 2016 Award Winner:

Mary Pittman – Colorado

The 2015 Award Winner:

Margarita Bianco – Colorado

The 2014 Award Winner:

Peggy King-Sears – Virginia


The 2013 Award Winner:

Mark Semmler – Colorado


Award Benefits
The recipient is a guest at the annual international conference and receives a complimentary registration and membership renewal. During the conference award program, the recipient receives a certificate of recognition and an honorarium. The recipient will also be profiled in LD Forum.


Criteria for Nomination

• Be a member of CLD or join as part of the application process
• Provide professional development, consulting services or serve in a leadership role working with teachers, other professionals, parents, and students
• Provide exemplary services to the field of learning disabilities for a minimum of five years

Submission of applications and inquiries:

Colleen Reutebuch, University of Texas at Austin,1912 Speedway D4900, Austin TX, 78712 ckreutebuch@austin.utexas.edu